horse classifieds
Your Online Horse Marketplace

Go Back   Horseville Forums > Horseville Forum > Anything Goes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2009, 09:40 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Question Do you think this is fraud?

I have been going back and forth emails with someone from another country that is willing to give me two horses and he will pay shipping if I pay the insurance. He has furnished the shipping companys name and they have been in touch with me as well and have furnished tracking numbers for the horses and they will accompany with papers and transfer of ownership. I have indicated to shipping company I will only pay through PayPal . The name of the company is the World Wide Delivery Service . Has anyone heard of this kind of situation before or this company? I am hesitant because as they say "if its too good to be true -- its usueally not true" . I could use some advise.
I have heard many of your remarks. I agree and am proceding with great caution. Note : I am not selling or buying any horse - they are offering them to me for free.
I have heard from the shipping company who has a legit web site and has provided me with a tracking number and documentation for transfer of ownership papers . I have only been asked to split the overseas insurance which is equilivant to 170 dollars and can be paid through paypal. If you are familar with PayPal- your money is fully insured if it is a fraud. So I have no money at risk. I have seen photos of the horses and gone back and forth often and this person just wants a very good home for two horses that can no longer be kept there.
So am I crazy or is this really going to happen??

Last edited by purplewaterhorse; 10-21-2009 at 07:07 PM. Reason: adding more information
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2009, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: monticello arkansas
Posts: 333
Default

sounds like a scam. if they want money up front before shipping then i say it is. you will send money and never hear from them again and more than likely its someone right here in the us.be carefull
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2009, 10:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 970
Default

I agree with Joseph. It sounds like a scam to me too. Be very careful and do not send any money. Good luck
__________________
www.banbarenterprisesllc.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2009, 11:28 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Question This Fraud

Do Not Do It!!!! It is FRAUD! They are only for the money and you will not recieve the horses or the horses are STOLEN! I have been going though a lot of this ever sense I have put my horse up for sale. If the person does not come and see your horse I don't trust them.
My horses have been sold so many times and when the check came I would call the bank where it was to come from and the check was stolen.
Also for shipping the insurance is already in the shipping fee and it can't be changed.
But it's up to you on what you want to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,603
Default

This is a scam that has been going around a long time !! Never do anything like that !! The people you are dealing with are usually from Nigeria and are crooks in a big way !! Even if someone from the US wants to do business like that,,,DON`T !!! You will come out the loser !!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 09:58 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Please read the additional information I have added. The final slam on the fraud deal is if they take Paypal . I do not know if you are familar but Paypay will guarantee all funds transfered and they check out the company for fraud. When I said I would only pay through them and its only 100 bucks Ithought i would call their bluff. ANd they stipulated it had to only go through the company's financial director and so on and so on. They are saying I will recieve a phone call.
its a wait and see.... I am paying nothing untill its all cleard and I recieve documentation on their transferance for legal documentation.
but I admit.. I am still and will be forever cautious untll all the ducks are in a line if you know what I mean. I am not stupid. BUt I admit... I do still believe there are good people out there.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2009, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 103
Default

Anyway you look at this;it looks like Scam and it smells like Scam.Good luck ,but you are being SCAMED.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2009, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,603
Default

Sorry but any way you look at it its still a scam !! I don`t care what they say !! Bet you haven`t thought to check any of this out !! What financial director ?? The story they give in these scams makes no sense at all !! And like I said you will lose !! But its your money !! You certainly will not be the first to have fallen for it !!
Come to think of it ,, there was a member on this forum that does internet fraud investigations !! I still have her email address if you would like to email her and ask about it !! If so PM me with your email address and I will give it to you !!

Last edited by mart; 10-23-2009 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2009, 03:51 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default internet investigator

Thank you for the offer . Yes, I would like the address and have this investigated. If for no other reason than to pull their chain and let them know that people are not that stupid. I have not given them any money and wont untill all is checked out. Lets get them checked out!

thanks again for your assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2009, 06:58 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near Albany, New York
Posts: 14
Default

Which country are these horses being shipped from, You did not say or perhaps I missed it.
If you want a free horse pay only shipping, than why don't you go to an auction and save a couple.?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fraud, free horses

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0