horse classifieds
Your Online Horse Marketplace

Go Back   Horseville Forums > Horseville Forum > Legal

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:25 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Angry I almost got scammed

To all of you out there in Horseville, you probably think I am really stupid, to almost fall into this one. However, I would like to know how you guys recognized it was a scammer so quick?

I too received the following e-mail from jare.hayor3@yahoo.com.

I was not up to scammers the only thing that caught my eye was they wanted me to wire money thru' a Western Union, and I remembered that people mostly get scammed thru' the Western Union. SO e-mailed my friend real quick who has horses and she it is defitnitley a scam!!
To Garret N Texas I too got the same e-mail you did only I filled the in the truth!! Now I am not sure what to do. Thank-goodness they did not ask me for my bank account number or my SS #. However, I would have would not have given them that info.
My e-mail too said that they were going to Holland for 6 months and they want the horse by then. I told them they cannot have the horse and neither could the shippers come pick her up until I got confirmation from the bank.

I cannot believe how deathly close I was to getting scammed out of $2500.00. The following e-mail is the one that I got on 11-3-2009. This just goes to show how close I was!!!
Does anyone in Horseville think that we might be able to do something with this individual with all the information on this e-mail?

Hello James,
Thanks for your quick response towards this transaction...Am so grateful that this transaction is going on smoothly which i don't want you to delay any why to get it completed....I just wanted to inform you that since the payment will get to you this morning and here is the UPS tracking number ( K143 638 9857 ) all i want you to get it deposit into your account and wire the rest of funds through western union to the shipper's to their personal assistant in California that is where their funds will be transferred too...i just want you to know that any charges that the Western Union will charge the fees should be deducted from the shipper's funds you are sending to them..and then for all your Good Work i all Compensate you with $50..because you have done good job and waited for the payment to arrived at your location...thank you again and God will bless you..


So here is Rita Brady information In California Below,


Reciever:Rita Brady
Address:587 N Bates Ave,
Cityinuba,
State:CA
Zipcode: 93618




And After the Funds has been wire to the Shipper's Personal Assistant ye soonest today,I implore you to get back to me with the Transfer Details and i implore you to use My Own Text Question and Answer that i will give to you and file it in the transfer form and these is the Transfer Information's i all need from you Below after the Transfer has been done today,


THE MONEY TRANSFER CONTROL NUMBERS(M T C N #):


THE AMOUNT SENT:


NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE SENDER'S:


NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE RECEIVER'S:


TEXT QUESTION WILL BE:MY BEST USER:


TEXT ANSWER WILL BE :APRIL:


So that is Information's i all need from you after the transfer has been done and after then you all give the Shipper's 3 to 5 business days to come for the picking up of the horse from you and i want you to get the horse ready and Clean before the Shipper's will get to you and then i want you to get the paper works ready too which they will Sign on it?
I all want you to get back to me if you got my E-mail and the Information's and get everything done soonest today and get back to me as soon as you get the email and how is the horse doing today??....
Hoping to read from you very Soon.
Am still online
Thanks..
Jare

Last edited by magic769; 11-03-2009 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to DixiesAngel25 Send a message via MSN to DixiesAngel25
Default

Scammers tend to use some variation of this kind of email. Anytime I see an email from someone wanting to ship horses without first looking them over in person, I delete the emails. 9 times out of 10, it IS a scam. I always say cash only or buyer must pick up in person. I've gotten a few of these emails lately. Never give out personal information to people you don't know over the internet.
__________________
You can walk the walk, and talk the talk; but can you ride the hide?


It is a good rule in life to never apologize.
The right sort of people do not want apologies,
and the wrong sort take a mean advantage of them.
-P.G. Wodehouse
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2009, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 228
Unhappy How to identify scams/spam.

I had a similar scam tried on me. The fact it was from someone from a foreign country was my first warning sign. Most of the email scams come from foreign countries. It was a free KMSH for the price of shipping from the British Camaroon. It did not seem logical. First how did a native KY horse get clear over there? Why giveaway a horse so far away? There were lots of mispelled words like the spam from Nigeria. Because KMSHs can be registered in 3 breed directories, I emailed them asked how the horse was registered and they assured me the horse was registered with [b]AQHA. Then I knew it was a scam for sure & reported it to the website where this horse listed. I also blocked that scammer from emailing me. Remember that when you open spam emails you are telling the scammer's computer here is someone with an email address that they can have access to. You probably will probably have more scam emails sent to you. Just mark them as spam in your email and don't even open them and eventually it will slow down a little.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 10:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 620
Default

Excellent Troy!
4J-I have a client looking for a known [registered] Daughter of Dash for Cash, you have one we can split the proceeds! email: westmar@centurytel.net
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2009, 12:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Emerson, Arkansas
Posts: 1,842
Default

I wish she was a daughter. She is I think a great grand-daughter. I don't have her papers here in the house but Dash For Cash is on the last line of her papers as well as Easy Jet Too and Bugs Alive in 75. All 3 of them are the last line on her papers, which makes them one off of the babies papers.
Bugs Hero Paint
__________________
www.4jpainthorses.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 11-07-2009, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 620
Default

Well-you run across a daughter of Dash for Cash let me know, we might just do okay in a sale. This guy has a Beduiano line-[spelling] breeding-
At the track the pairing UP is winning currently. 'The thing to do'. Notice I used UP, Troy!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0