horse classifieds
Your Online Horse Marketplace

Go Back   Horseville Forums > Horseville Forum > Legal

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2008, 03:54 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Is this a scam.

Hi, I was wondering if this is a scam.
The e-mail is from HMEDUFF@YAHOO
Hello,
Am interested in buying your horse.How much is it?
I told him the price and then got this e-mail.

I got your email,
About the payment i will be paying with check,where by when you get the check,i want you to deduct your money for the horse and send the rest to my shipper for the shippment of the horse within USA.
Send me your FULL NAME,ADDRESS PHONE NUMBER, so that the payment can be sent to you soonest.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2008, 04:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Is this a scam.

I would say this is certainly a scam. Especially since they told you to take out your share for the shipper, that is always a huge red flag. The two responses that I thought were scams, I responded back that I had to have cash and US dollars only, and I never heard back. Good luck to you!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2008, 04:44 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is this a scam.

Thank's for the reply. I kinda figured it was a scam. I sent him an e-mail yesterday saying that I would'nt deal with his shipper and that he would have to give me cash in hand and so far I hav'nt herd a word from him.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alborn, Minnesota
Posts: 202
Default Re: Is this a scam.

Scammer for sure....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 03:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Is this a scam.

I had basically the same scam email from the same person. I reported this to Horseville but apparently he is still able to view horses on the site.

************************************************** **********************
From: Howard Duff <hmeduff@yahoo.com>
Subject: hi
To:
Date: Sunday, July 13, 2008, 12:12 PM

I got your email,
About the payment i will be paying with check,where by when you get the check,i want you to deduct your money for the horse and send the rest to my shipper for the shippment of the horse within USA.
Send me your FULL NAME,ADDRESS PHONE NUMBER, so that the payment can be sent to you soonest.
************************************************** ************************
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alborn, Minnesota
Posts: 202
Default Re: Is this a scam.

I am sure he just keeps setting up new mail account under different names. You really can not stop them.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2008, 05:04 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Is this a scam.

OMG!!!! That same person sent me a e-mail about my horse!!! it's a scam!!! said everything the same!!! SCAM! Read my post about it. and i reported him too! and he used a different e-mail.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2008, 06:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Is this a scam.

i got the EXACT same email from the same person.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 711
Default Re: Is this a scam.

Report the Yahoo emails to Yahoo. I think it is abuseatyahoo.com? not sure of address but they can steer you in the right direction. It just makes it harder for the scammer if we all report the scams, plus Yahoo will pick it up and do more if they are overcome with formal complaints. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 299
Send a message via Yahoo to lunanightwolf
Angry Do not answer this email!

abehbruce@yahoo.com DO NOT ANSWER THIS EMAIL!

Here is a copy of what he sent me:

hello there
i have my male horse that i am willing to offer to any loving and caring home in the states where i know he will be well taken care of. i am a British botanist presently in Cameroon carrying out researches on new African plants and flowers. so here i discovered that Rebel will take it too hard to adapt to the harsh climate in Africa. i have about 8months in Cameroon before returning to England. so please i wish to have a good home for him.
His registered name is Skips Tru Sioux but his barn name is Rebel. Rebel is a horse that I would like to give out. I am willing offer him to a good home. He can trail ride, English pleasure, and western pleasure. He is a calm horse but needs an experienced rider also good with beginners.i can't have him because of work right now which is the most reason why i am badly in need for any loving and caring home for my horse any where in the states OK.i am willing to ship him to you so all i will be needing from you is for you to pay for his shipment fee if only you know you will be offering a good home for her. i am presently in Cameroon from where a flight takes just 8-9 hours to get to the states. the shipping fee will cost you just $635 which will be all you are going to pay for him. but first i will like to know a little about you...
where are you located.....?
are you married with kids...?
are you used to horses....?
have you any horse..?
are you an experience rider or beginner..?
so for the shipment i will be needing your.
full names,
contact number,
city/state,
street and home address (only if you will prefer home delivery)
the nearest airport in your location where you will like Rebel to be shipped to.
as for me i am Mr.Abeh Bruce and you can reach me through +237-76-62-78-21 so just get back for more pictures and information if needed.
so please i will be wa.
iting..

Remember reading this one? I bet you do. This man is contacting people again about this free horse named Rebel. But this time. It's a bay. And it has socks in picture and is real tall. In the other two. I has no socks and is shorter. DO NOT ANSWER THIS CONTACT!!!!!! He is a scam that has scammed before!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0